French Vanilla Chocolate Chip Cookies.

photo-4
I made this method of chocolate chip cookies by accident. I blame, or I guess can “thank”, sleep deprivation due to having a teething infant. I was making my usual go-to recipe for chocolate chip cookies when I thought the dough seemed a bit dry. I realized that I completely forgot to add the eggs! I have never made cookies where eggs were added at the END (post-flour and all) but was certainly not going to waste all those ingredients…or precious time! I added the eggs at the very end and this resulted in my NEW favorite chocolate chip cookie recipe. The taste of eggs is more pronounced (thus the french vanilla flavor) and the texture remains very soft and chewy with slightly firm edges. Accidental perfection.

Ingredients:
•1¾ cups plus 2 tablespoons (8½ ounces) cake flour
•1⅔ cups (8½ ounces) bread flour
•1¼ teaspoons baking soda
•1½ teaspoons baking powder
•1½ teaspoons Kosher salt
•2½ sticks unsalted butter, melted
•3/4 cup packed dark brown sugar
•3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
•3/4 cup granulated sugar (I used superfine sugar)
•2 large eggs
•1 tablespoon vanilla extract
•1 cup dark chocolate chips
•1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
•1/2 cup walnut halves (measure whole then chop finely; I used a food processor)

Directions:
1. Combine the cake flour, bread flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt in a medium bowl. Whisk well. Mix in chocolate chips and walnuts.
2. Beat the sugars and butter on medium speed for about 5 minutes or until light and fluffy. Add vanilla extract. Mix well.
3. Stir in the flour mixture. Whisk eggs separately in small bowl then mix into dough until just combined.
4. Cover the dough with plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 2 hours (until completely chilled) or overnight.

5. Roll into 1-1.5 inch balls and place on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
6. Bake at 350˚ for 9-11 minutes or until golden brown.  Leave on baking sheet for 10 minutes then transfer to cooling rack.

Leave a Reply

