Creamy Maple & Brown Sugar Oatmeal

photo 2Growing up, I loved Quaker Oats maple and brown sugar instant oatmeal but I can’t even remember the last time I bought it. I don’t usually add sugar to my oatmeal but every once in a while I get a craving for that comforting combination of maple syrup and brown sugar. I make my oatmeal with 1% milk and added walnuts for protein and a little bit of healthy fat to keep me full until lunch. I also added a small amount of plain, low fat yogurt for probiotics (good for the GI tract), protein, and a creamy, tangy flavor.

Maple & Brown Sugar Oatmeal with Yogurt

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rolled (old-fashioned) oats
  • 1 cup milk (1% or non-fat is best) or water
  • 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped,
  • 1 tsp. 100% pure maple syrup
  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1/4-1/3 cup plain yogurt (low fat or non-fat)

Directions (for stovetop):

  1. Combine oats and milk (or water) in saucepan and bring to a boil (mixing first then bringing to a boil will make it creamier).
  2. Simmer and stir occasionally for 5 minutes. Remove from heat and let sit for 2 minutes.
  3. Add walnuts, maple syrup, brown sugar, and yogurt. Stir well.

Directions (for microwave): (Note: Mixing oats and milk/water and storing in refrigerator overnight helps reduce microwave time making it a quick breakfast on a busy morning)

  1. Combine oats and milk (or water) in large bowl (I have found that a wide salad bowl worked best in preventing overflow).
  2. Microwave 2 minutes. Stir. Microwave another 2 minutes. Add more milk or water if mixtures appears dry. Microwave another 1-2 minutes, if necessary, until oats appear cooked. Let sit 2 minutes.
  3. Add walnuts, maple syrup, brown sugar, and yogurt. Stir well.
Leave a Reply

